Winds of Change A-Blowin’ with Author M.L. Newman

winds of change

In this sequel to My Night Breeze, Audra and Mateo have been struggling to keep their friends safe, while continuing to uncover the mystery of her past. There is tension between the ‘Elements,’ and Audra finds herself the unwitting key to a hopefully peaceful resolution. She finally has more of a life than she ever envisioned; but the timing is all wrong. Will she be able to find out the truth of her connection in time, or will the enemy overtake them all?

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am an independent romance writer. I enjoy writing under different sub genres from romantic thrillers to paranormal romance. I like to write for the age demographic of Young Adult and Adult.

What do you do when you are not writing?

I like to spend my time catching up on reading, dancing for fun and sometimes watching TV shows/movies. I’d have to say that I spend more of my time reading than anything else.

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I started writing back in 2009 but only a few pages of an idea. It wasn’t until 2013 that I jumped back into the story with full force. I finished Glimmer of Hope and published it in November 2013.

Where do you get your ideas?

The ideas seem to find me constantly. I have yet to actually sit down and think about a storyline that I could write. Usually while I’m driving or doing something as equally inconvenient, the idea springs up like a little video clip in my mind. And what I see is beautiful and thrilling but somehow I have to keep replaying it until I can get to paper and a pen. It gets worse with time as the clip usually moves forward adding more details that I can’t possibly remember everything. It’s wonderful and tragic all at the same time.

Do you ever experience writer’s block?

I do experience writers block from time to time. I’ve grown to acknowledge it for what it is. I’ve either written myself into a corner that I need to fix or I’m trying too hard to write it perfectly the first time. At that point, I take a step back and reread it from the beginning to get my mind on a different track. It helps to move forward.

Do you work with an outline, or just write?

It depends how quickly the story hits. I make a point to outline almost all of my ideas. The ones that don’t have an outline usually are based on a scene that I had to get down on paper and then when I’m ready to write a story around it, then I’ll outline.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I’ve said this before but when I had given up on reading, movies were my hobby. I would spend so much time collecting movies of all kinds that I couldn’t understand why anyone would rather read. When I was introduced back into the book world, I could have kicked myself for all the time I wasted ignoring books. It’s no secret that Twilight was the book that opened my mind and I’m extremely grateful because of all the amazing authors I’ve been introduced to like Charlainne Harris and S. C. Stephens.

Can you tell us about your new book “Winds of Change”?

Winds of Change has been a journey in of itself. In the sequel to My Night Breeze, Audra and Mateo have been struggling to keep their friends safe, while continuing to uncover the mystery of her past. There is tension between the ‘Elements,’ and Audra finds herself the unwitting key to a hopefully peaceful resolution. She finally has more of a life than she ever envisioned; but the timing is all wrong. Will she be able to find out the truth of her connection in time, or will the enemy overtake them all?

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

This book is almost pure imagination. There are some moments of real experience peppered within but with the twists, there was no way I could keep it as grounded as the first book.

What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?

My favorite parts would have to be all the surprise twists. There are quite a few that are unexpected and one twist that has Audra between a rock and a hard place. That is one of the more intense scenes.

How did you come up with the title?

Winds of Change, while not an original title, was the perfect fit for the sequel. The theme stayed the same while showing the progression of the storyline. I knew what I wanted the title to be and after I came up with it decided to stick with it.

What project are you working on now?

I’m at the tail end of two books that I’ve been working on for over the last year on and off. I’m hoping to publish them both in 2015.

Will you have a new book coming out soon?

Yes, I will be publishing Hope Has A Glare rather soon. And I have a bunch of good things waiting in the wings to share with readers.

Get your copy of

Winds of Change

winds of change

Leave a Reply

