Cleared For Take-Off with Author Rebecca McLendon

Individuality is a prerequisite for an artist! Rebecca McLendon is singular in her individuality, There is no artist on the scene quite like this ex-teacher from Texas.

One of the most striking things about her writings is her perceptiveness. Her insight into the workings of the human and how they achieve success and stave off failure are startling. You need to read her book “The Day I Grew Wings” and see just how she paints a story. The story of her own overcoming of obstacles and her own path to success.

1. Can you tell me why you chose the title of your book?

I chose “The Day I Grew Wings” to suggest the beginning of a journey in flight and the love of the adventure of flight. The question throughout posed to my readers is: Just when did I grow wings? Was I born with them or did they appear later in life? Was it when I began flying lessons?

2. Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?

My audience continues to grow. The book reached friends and acquaintances, then pilots, and it is spreading to women in aviation, retired people, and student pilots.. I simply want to reach people and show them the love of adventure and flying.

3. Why did you feel it was time for you to write a book?

Pressure from friends, because they read my blogs and felt the blogs should become a book. However I had always dreamed of writing a book.

4. How did you find the experience of writing a book?

Writing a book created a tumble of emotions and experiences. It was cathartic because the story is personal. It created great joy as I finished a chapter or found a connectedness to the words I produced. It stirred angst and frustration when I couldn’t connect to the words I produced. I felt it was like a pregnancy. You’re all excited at getting the good news but as time draws closer to the birth, you are also tired of the heavy load you’re carrying, your back hurts. The expectancy and excitement are coupled with an anxiousness to get this done.

5. Do you think you will ever write a fiction book?

I might. I have a story line and characters in mind. It could prove very exciting. And I can almost guarantee it will involve flying!

6. Do you enjoy reading in your spare time—if so—what kinds of books?

I read fiction and non-fiction. I like plots that offer a degree of suspense, and provoke deep imagining. I like to feel the joy, the anger, the sadness the author produces.

7. How has writing your book changed the way you view the publishing world?

I have realized what a huge competitive market is out there, especially in Indie Publishing. I realize that I also have to work at maintaining my audience and reaching out to other audiences. Not everyone is interested in aviation, but some would be interested in a woman finding their place and getting involved in aviation. Others are interested in cancer survivors going out and doing something in their lives to celebrate life. Others might tap into the theme that there is definitely life after retirement. Others might be inspired by the faith it takes to learn to fly and airplane and to actually fly it. Hopefully “The Day I Grew Wings” will touch those different interests and the word will continue to spread.

8. What other books are similar to your own? What makes them alike?

I recently read “A Sky of My Own” by Molly Bernheim. I found her passion for learning to fly and the excitement she felt during flight highly inspiring. I would hope “The Day I Grew Wings” would offer the same.

9. Do you have any unique talents or hobbies?

In addition for a passion for writing, I studied classical piano and still play. I have composed several songs which I recorded. I am also an avid photographer and have had a few shows and have even sold some of my pieces. Someday I will rekindle my love for drawing and painting, if my writing will let me.

10. How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

I have an Amazon Author Page

I also have a Facebook Author Page

And my email address is: beckgal220@gmail.com I do accept Pay Pal payments and could send you an autographed copy depending on availability.

11. What can we expect from you in the future?

I am currently writing my second book which takes up where “The Day I Grew Wings” left off. I haven’t firmed the title yet, but it will center around The Second 200 Hours and the people who have brought me to where I am.

12. What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

I would love to hear from my readers and gladly receive reviews of my book. If you purchase via Amazon, please leave a rating and review. If you purchase my book through book signings or direct order, I would appreciate a review via my email or on my Facebook Page. Reviews are fuel to fan the flame of passion for writing. Even if there is a critique, they help the author better his/her skill and style in subsequent works. In some case, a critique serious enough can result in a much-improved second edition. Authors are truly blessed by reviews.

13. Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

If you are trying to get published, make sure you establish contact with a good editor. They can save you a great deal of frustration in the long run. A good editor can help you tweak your material before it goes to print. It is much easier to undo things before it is in print. Next, contract someone to help you with publicity and who has access to a variety of venues with which to promote your book. Once the family and friends have all bought your book, the big “Now What Moment” comes.

Readers, give feedback, as I said before, authors thrive on knowing they’ve produced a good read. If you buy on Amazon, review the book. Email the author and give words of encouragement. And recommend the book to others. As much as we would like to think it, books do not sell themselves at first.

the day I grew wingscheck out with

Leave a Reply

